Chats and tickets
On your Agent Desk, in the panel on the left, you can toggle between four different chat types by selecting the relevant tab.
Once a tab is selected you can search or filter for a specific chat in that list. Selecting a chat from the list opens additional information about the chat in the panel on the right.
Lists all chats that are currently open. As an agent, you can manage new incoming chats and engage with end-users.
- New incoming chats display with a green background.
- A blue dot indicates new activity on an existing chat (this blue dot only appears on a chat card if you are on a different chat at the time a new message is received).
- You can sort the live chat queue by "New Customer Activity" or "New Chat" depending on what you want to see at the top of your live chat list.
You can flag a chat to follow up with later. A flagged chat is not closed/converted to a ticket after the inactivity timeout duration and is not assigned to another agent after the agent chat timeout duration.
Lists all chats with a 'Pending' status.
- Agents can mark live chats as 'pending' if they are waiting on a response from an end-user.
The agent receives a notification under the bell icon when another agent/supervisor tags them in a chat, and can see all the chats under the Tagged tab. Chats are removed from this tab once the chat is closed.
Lists all chats that were closed by either the end-user or the agent.
It also includes chats that were closed by the system after a time of inactivity (set under Preferences). These chats can be reopened by the agent.
On the WhatsApp channel, a WhatsApp templated messge (HSM) must be used after 24 hours since last interaction.
Lists all chats that were received outside of business hours or when agents were unavailable. These chats are converted into tickets that can be attended to once the agent is back online.
Tickets can be manually closed by the agent. Tickets don't expire but are archived after 90 days.
Agents can close any assigned tickets after responding
Agents cannot transfer tickets to other agents.
When an end-user with an open ticket initiates a new chat with an agent, the user’s existing ticket, whether unassigned or assigned, is closed automatically. This removes open tickets for users who are chatting to an agent.
When an end-user with an open ticket tries to reach an agent but is again unable to initiate a chat, the new chat message is merged with the existing ticket when it is time to convert that chat to a ticket. This prevents multiple tickets from being created for the same user.
Agents can view all unassigned tickets, with the most recent at the top.
If departments are configured on the account, the agent will only see the unassigned tickets for the department(s) they are part of. If no departments are configured, all agents will see all tickets.
The list auto-refreshes in real time, adding new unassigned tickets to the top of the list.
They can assign a ticket to themself by clicking the "Accept" button that appears when hovering over the ticket.
Agents can also use the "Quick accept" buttons to quickly accept 3, 5, or 10 tickets. A custom number of tickets can also be specified. The availability of these buttons depends on the number of unassigned tickets available.
The oldest tickets are assigned first, regardless of any filters applied. Accepting these tickets moves them to the Assigned tab.
Agents can quickly accept a number of tickets, from oldest to newest
Agents can view and respond to all the tickets assigned to them from the Assigned queue.
Agents can only view the tickets assigned to them, and there is no limit to the number of tickets that can be assigned to an agent. They can respond by selecting the ticket, typing the message, and clicking "Start Chat".
If the ticket is a WhatsApp message older than 24 hours, the agent must select a templated message to send to the end-user. In all other cases, they can send a free-text message.
Agents can view and respond to any tickets assigned to them
Agents can view all closed tickets and select a ticket to preview. Agents can select the "Closed by me" filter to view only those tickets that they closed themselves.
Agents can view all closed tickets
When a ticket is created outside of office hours, an autoresponder is sent to inform the user that they can leave multiple messages for an agent in the ticket. This new auto-responder message is sent after the existing out-of-support hours autoresponder, and reads:
"Would you like to leave a message for the agent? Please respond with YES or NO. If you select Yes, after your last message, please send "//end" without the quotes to end the chat."
- Responding with "Yes" allows the end-user to send multiple messages to an agent. These messages keep adding to the same ticket.
- Responding with "No" ends the Chat Desk session immediately.
- If the user does not respond to "Yes/No", the session in Chat Desk expires after the same time as it does for any live chat.
- If the user sends a message other than "Yes/No", the autoresponder above is sent again.
- Sending "No" after sending "Yes" will be treated as a normal message and it will not terminate the ticket session.
- //end ends the ticket session on Chat Desk. Any new messages from this user being sent on Chat Desk will be treated as a new chat session.
- If "Yes/No" is not selected and the user sends //end, the session will end.
- If a user selects "Yes" and sends some messages but does not send //end, the ticket session expires 10 minutes after the last message from this user on the ticket.