The Pending Chats feature helps Chat Desk agents to manage their live chat queue more efficiently.
Agents' live chat queues are often cluttered by chats awaiting a response from the end-user. Agents can now move these chats to the new "Pending" tab, cleaning up their live chat queue to only show the chats that are active and require their imminent attention.
How it works
In the chat management section of the Chat Desk interface, a new tab called "Pending" was added. This tab will house all chats marked as 'pending'.
In a live chat, you will see a new "Pending" icon at the top of your chat window. Click this icon to mark the chat as 'pending'. Once marked as 'pending', the chat is moved from your "Live" tab to the "Pending" tab.
When a chat is successfully marked as pending, you will see a confirmation message in the bottom right of your screen:
In the "Pending" tab, each chat card will contain a "pending" icon to illustrate that it has been marked as a pending chat.
- You can still send messages to users from the "Pending" tab
- Supervisors will also have visibility on which chats have been marked as pending
A pending chat is not closed/converted to a ticket after the inactivity timeout duration and is not assigned to another agent after the agent chat timeout duration.
The pending chat will stay in the Pending tab until:
- A customer replies on the chat
- An agent unmarks the pending status
- Supervisor unmarks pending status
When the end-user replies to the pending chat, the chat will automatically be moved back to the "Live" tab. You will see a confirmation message in the bottom right of your screen:
You can now continue engaging with the user from the "Live" tab. In the "Live" tab, the pending icon will be greyed on the chat card to show that this chat was marked as pending. The chat will remain in the "Live" tab until you conclude the conversation or move it back to the pending state again.
An additional setting has been added to Chat Desk Preferences (accessible via the Chat Desk Dashboard): "Pending Chats Auto-closure Time". Here you can set a time duration after which a chat in the "Pending" tab will automatically close and move to the "Closed" tab.
This setting is only applicable to chats in a 'pending' status.